i98FM Illawarra Convoy wins Community Group of the Year

i98FM Illawarra Convoy wins Community Group of the Year

22 January, 2024

The i98FM Illawarra Convoy was honored, Friday 19th January, with the City of Wollongong's "Community Group of the Year."

"There were 23 amazing groups within our community nomintaed, who contribute a wide range of important services to the local community and we are extremely proud to be recognised for this award" said Convoy manager Mark Rigby. "This awards ceremony really demonstrated what a vibrant community we have in the Illawarra, with so many community groups providing exceptional, much needed programs and support services to many in need within our community. We congratule all nominees for both our awards section, and all others."

Convoy supporter Karlie Zec from Tiny Tins was also nominated for an Environmental Achievement Award, as well as Citizen of the Year.

Wollongong City Lord Mayor Councillor Gordon Bradbery AM acknowledged and congratulated the nominees and award recipients and said it was an honour to shine a spotlight on their achievements.

“We had an unprecedented 85 nominations across the 12 award categories. As such, we judges had a tough time picking from so many worthy nominees,” he said.

“It’s heartening to see how many people contribute to the strength, success and quality of our community.”